Rava Idli

 

 

   

Rava Idli ,is another South Indian breakfast famous in Karnataka.I first got a chance to taste this in Bangalore in the famous MTR restaurant.From then onwards Rava Idli has become a regular breakfast in our home.I make this using the MTR Rava Idli instant mix  from the Indian stores.I am curious to know how to make the mix from scratch.Any ideas??

Ingredients:

  1. Rava Idli mix(MTR)- 1pack(500gm)
  2. Sour curd -500gm
  3. Finely chopped coriander leaves – few

 

Method:

  • Mix 1 measure of Rava Idli mix with half measure of sour curd.
  • Add chopped coriander leaves to the above mix.Leave it for 5 min.
  • After 5 min add the remaining sour curd and mix well.

  • Steam the batter in a idli cooker for 10 to 15min.
  • These idli tastes good with or  without any chutney.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Hi madhori
    just yestaerday only i made this ravva idli ..not the instant one.prepared at home.will post mine some time later.

    Reply

  2. I love the real MTR restaurant Rave idlis with butter and ginger chutney they serve.YUM!! I haven’t tried this pack,just the one I make ,I will get one of these.Looks fluffy and yummy there.Thanks for posting.

    Reply

  3. Posted by madhoori on May 18, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Hi swapna,

    Oh u make the rava idli from scratch?Wow I want to try it that way.Then I will be waiting for your recipe…..
    Thanku

    Hi Asha,

    Yup the MTR products I see here make be nostalgic.When we were in Blore we were regular visitors on weekends.Though there was a huge crowd waiting for their turn it was worth waiting right!

    Reply

  4. This has become a handy breakfast for me whenever i wake up late and realise that i forgot to plan about any kind of breakfast:) infact i made it today morning also along with coconut pudina chutney.

    Reply

  5. i haven’t used MTR instant rava idli although i love all their msala powders. i make rava idli from scartch and u wont belive how simple it is to make at home. u can prepare rava mix and keep it stored for atleast one month in air tight container. if u want to see my recipe check here. try making it from scratch girl and i am sure you will like it too;) u dont have to depend on instant mixes then:)

    Reply

  6. Posted by madhoori on May 29, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Hi Neelu,

    Thanku for your valuable comment.Yeah guess what I used to have a friend named neelu(neelima)in high school.Your name just reminded me of her.

    Hi Sia,

    Thanks a bunch for the recipe.I really appreciate for the link to your recipe.
    Have a nice day.

    Reply

  7. Hi first time to ur blog……..Ur rava idly is looking great…I love it….

    Reply

  8. Hi Madhuri,

    This is a very easy and delicious receipe. When some of our friends tuned , I made it with tomato chutney and coconut chutney. They loved it. I used Gits mix, and added yogurt as you suggested. Very yummi.

    Reply

  9. I wanted to say just a few words to you about this. Thank You! I really do appreciate this.

    Reply

  10. hi,
    home made rawa idly- jus fry the semolina(rawa) for sometime till the raw smell goes, then add the seasonings(add oil in a pan, fry mustard seeds, channa dal, urad dad,cashewnuts), then the rest is same as the above preparation.but u need to add little pinch of cooking soda along with sour curds to it and keep aside for 15 mins then cook it.

    Reply

  11. I observed your blog using google and I must say, this is most likely one of the greatest nicely ready articles I have come across in a long time. I’ve bookmarked your site for more posts.

    Reply

Leave a comment