Capsicum Rice

Jhiva for Ingredients  ——- “Rice ” for the month of September 





This is my entry for JFI “Rice” hosted by Sharmi of Neivedyam.


Capsicum rice is very simple and easy rice variety made with a combination of Indian spices.

U can follow the same method with other vegetables like Egplant,Tindoora,potato too.Enjoy!


  1. Cooked rice – 3cups
  2. Capsicums -2 (big size)
  3. Ghee/oil – 2tsp
  4. Curry leaves – few
  5. Salt to taste
  6. Roasted peanuts for garnish.

Masala powder:

Roast the following ingredients in ghee and grind them into a powder along with grated coconut.

  1. Red chillies – 3 to 4
  2. Coriander seeds –  1 tsp
  3. Cumin seeds – 1tsp
  4. Urad dal – 1tsp
  5. Cinnamon stick -1″
  6. Peanuts – 2tsp
  7. Grated coconut – 1tsp
  8. Ghee(clarified butter) – 2tsp
  9. Lemon juice – 1tsp(optional)


  • In a wide bottom pan heat oil /ghee,add mustard seeds and curry leaves.
  • After the mustard starts spluttering add capsicum pieces and cook for 5min.(Do not over cook the capsicum)
  • To this add the above ground powder , salt and mix well.
  • Reduce the heat and add the cooked rice and combine with the mixture and salt well.
  • Turn off the stove ,add roasted  peanuts at the end, mix well and serve with  raita or any gravy of your choice.

16 responses to this post.

  1. I love the Capsicum rice,very tasty.Looks delicious M,thanks for posting!:)


  2. Posted by madhavi on August 11, 2007 at 5:24 am

    hey madhuri capsicum rice looks great . i will try it with potato and tell u how it came
    thanks for posting


  3. Hmmm,looks great,these variety of rices always help,specially for lazy people like me who rush to work without taking proper care of food,such times these easy to make dishes really help.


  4. The rice sounds yummy. I need to give it a try today.


  5. Posted by madhoori on August 14, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Thanku Asha,Madhavi,Alapana and Hima.Glad all of u liked the capsicum rice.


  6. Hi madhoori
    capsicum rice looking yummy!!!have u send this to JFI rice??


  7. Posted by madhoori on August 16, 2007 at 8:46 am

    Hi Swapna,
    Thanku for letting me know the JFI for September.I will send it today.


  8. capsicum rice looks delicious. the masala ingredients sound like a rich combination. thanks for the great one.


  9. Posted by Chitra on October 29, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Hi Madhoori,
    I was jus browsing for some different recipies and found your Capsicum rice. It was really great. Keep it up girl and let us know more great recipies. I tried wit mixed vegetables carrot, beans, lima beans and little beetroot. It turned out yummy.


  10. Hello Chitra,

    Thanks a lot for visiting my website.Yup will keep posting new recipes.Try and enjoy!


  11. Posted by supraja on September 18, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    thank u so much.i liked ur capsicum rice it came out very well.thanks for posting


  12. Posted by Anoop on March 6, 2009 at 4:49 am


    I see most of the comments from ladies, I will be the first Boy trying this I think. I love capsicum rice…Today morning I will be cooking this and will be packing for my Lunch…I love cooking. If anyone needs receipe on “AVAREKAAL USLI” let me know it’s just yumm…My mom tot me to do it…I am in US since I dont get good “AVAREKAALU” I make it with peas.. and I make “USLI” once in a week, and my friend loves it…


  13. Posted by Aditya on April 3, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    The peanut flavor along with capsicum is so awesome.🙂


  14. Posted by Reshma on April 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    I tried this recipe today and my husband liked it. Thank you so much.


  15. […] Capsicum Rice […]


  16. I haven’t tried this rice out. But based on the comments, i think i should try making this out.


Leave a Reply

